General information about visa to Kazakhstan

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan jointly with the competent authorities of the Republic of Kazakhstan has developed new "Rules for issuing visas of the Republic of Kazakhstan, as well as the extension and shortening their actions" (further - Rules). These Rules are registered in the Register of state registration of normative legal acts of the number 8407 on April 10, 2013.

The main purpose of the adoption of the Rules is to bring its provisions into line with the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan "On Migration" of 22 July 2011, the improvement of existing procedures for issuing visas as well as regulating the entry and exit of foreign citizens in the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

The Rules for the first time introduced new types of visas as "non-immigrant", "immigrant" and "exit".

The "immigration" visas are:

1. Diplomatic (A1, A2, A3);

2. Service (B1, B2, B3);

3. Investor (C1, C2);

4. Business (D1, D2, D3, D4, D5, D6, D7, D8);

5. Missionary (E1, E2, E3);

6. Tourism (F1);

7. Private (G1, G2, G3, G4);

8. Transit (H1).


"Immigrant" visas are issued:

1. On education (L1, L2);

2. For carrying out work (M1, M2, M3, M4, M5);

3. For stay on humanitarian grounds (N1, N2).


For travel in Kazakhstan you must have a tourist visa. Tourist visa issued by the Embassy of Kazakhstan after receiving a letter of invitation issued by a travel agency on behalf of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan.

For the issuance of visa support you need to provide the following information:

A copy of the passport, the validity of which must exceed 6 months over the period of validity of visa;

Payment receipt that consular fees and actual costs of Economic department of MFA of RK are paid, with wet seals of the company and the bank;

Personal data explaining the purpose of the visit;

Hotel reservation and booking of tickets (for citizens of China, India, Nigeria and so on.).


Terms of issue of visa support: within 10 – 12 days after receipt of the necessary information.

Urgent invitation for tourists and ordinary visa: within 5 working days.

Visa support through the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan in Almaty for a visa upon arrival at the airport also takes 5 working days.

Customers can obtain a transit Kazakhstan visa (in the Embassy of Kazakhstan in Almaty airport) without an invitation, if they have a visa and air or train tickets to third countries.

Citizens of the following countries can get a single entry tourist visa at the diplomatic missions of Kazakhstan without invitation:

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Britain, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, Netherlands, , New Zealand,  Norway, Portugal, Singapore, Switzerland, Sweden, United States.

The visa regime of the Republic of Kazakhstan with other countries.

Warning! In the period from 15 July 2014 to 15 July 2015, Kazakhstan has introduced a visa-free regime for 15 days to 10 countries:


Great Britain and Northern Ireland, 






The Netherlands,



During this period, the citizens of these 10 countries with a valid diplomatic, official and national passports, can be re-enter, exit and follow the transit through the territory of the Republic without a visa for up to 15 calendar days from the moment of crossing the state border.



шнурru topodinukladka-parketa